The fantastic Copa América Centenario

The Copa América Centenario, which in English can be translated as the Centennial America Cup, was a football competition celebrated in 2016. All the editions of the Copa América can be wagered at the website.

Prior to the celebration of this competition, it was decided that the regular Copa América would be celebrated every four years. This rule started with the 2007 edition. This meant that the subsequent editions were supposed to take place in 2011, 2015, 2019, etc.

However, 2016 was an important year for CONMEBOL, which is the South American football confederation. Specifically, in that year, the organization would celebrate 100 years since the first edition of the Copa América, which took place in 1916. For this reason, they wanted to figure out a reason to commemorate that special year. On the 1xBet website, fans can place their wagers on the amazing South American football.

Big plans

Before 2016, the South American football confederation expressed their interest in celebrating a special tournament that year. Whenever these competitions take place, you can visit 1xBet live streaming watch now, which feature these amazing continental competitions.

For that reason, CONMEBOL decided to partner with CONCACAF. The latter is the football confederation of the Caribbean and Central and North America. On normal occasions, both of them play their continental competitions in a completely independent manner.

The Copa América Centenario would have all 10 squads from South America, plus six teams from CONCACAF. This would give a total of 16 squads. Fans can watch the excellent 1xBet live-streaming now, which have the best continental football competitions from the entire world.

Double champions

The USA were selected as the host of the competition. The Major League Soccer and everything else related to American football can be wagered at the platform.

Chile came to the competition as the winners of the 2015 Copa América. They had a difficult group with the following other squads:

  • Argentina;
  • Panama;
  • and Bolivia.

Chile started with a defeat against Argentina. However, they quickly recovered and won their matches against Panama and Bolivia.

In the quarter-finals, the so-called massacre of Santa Clara took place, where Chile defeated Mexico 7-0. The 1xBet website allows its members to wager on whether lots of goals will be scored in a match. Later, Chile defeated Colombia 2-0 in the semi-finals.

The final took place on the 26th of June 2016. Chile played against Argentina. After drawing 0-0 in the 120 minutes, Chile won 4-2 from the penalty spot.

Related Articles

Back to top button
slot gacor slot joker6969 deposit pulsa daftar joker6969 slot gacor deposit pulsa slot gacor deposit pulsa daftar slot gacor slot joker6969